top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Kidwell

13 Records That I Can't Live Without

Updated: Feb 28, 2019

Although I've been slowly growing my collection of records ever since I was a freshman in college, I'm still very much a beginner collector. I only have about 20-25 in all, and the last contribution I made to it was at least over a year ago.

It's not that I fell out of love with records - my collection is still very much one of my most prized possessions, and I frequently take time to just sit down and listen to/admire them - but, as a recent college graduate who hasn't had a consistent job in approximately two years, my spending is pretty much limited to groceries and gas. Even the cheapest record at a thrift store is too expensive when you have thousands of dollars in student loans to repay...

It is tough sometimes; especially when I find a record I've been looking for in a local shop or online that I can't buy. But, for the most part, being frugal with collecting has allowed me to fall back in love with the records I already own and treasure them even more - that's what inspired me to create this blog post, in fact.

I truly love each and every individual record in my collection, but the 13 I'm about to share are ones that are deeply ingrained in my life and who I am as a person. Each one has a significant personal meaning to me; based on things like how/when I found a record, the album/artist, the era of my life that I listened to an album in, a particular song, etc.

So, here are 13 records that I truly can't imagine my life without (in no particular order):


Let's Be Still - The Head And The Heart

This album by The Head And The Heart is what really got me into folk-indie music. I never pegged myself as a folk fan, but The Head and The Heart makes it so beautifully that I couldn't stay away. It comes with a pretty sizable black-and-white poster of the band on stage (presumably practicing for a gig) and the album itself is split onto two records, with sides A-D. Funny enough, though, I only have the first half of this album - I didn't open it up and check the contents when I bought it at a thrift shop in RVA (rookie mistake, I kn) and the second record, which was supposed to have sides C-D, is actually from an entirely different album by an entirely different band (Woman King by Iron & Wine). It kind of works out, though, because the majority of my favorite songs from "Let's Be Still" are on sides A-B, anyway. Plus, I do enjoy some Iron & Wine.


Holy Ghost - Modern Baseball

This album is special to me because it defines a very particular time in my life...I was introduced to Modern Baseball when they released this album in 2016, just a few months before I moved to Richmond and started my freshman year of college. Those times were really tough for me for a multitude of reasons, but in general I was just so sad, angry and confused with myself and my life. This album gave me so much solace during those times, and for that reason it will always have a special place in my heart. Plus, I love the electric blue of the record itself - it really stands out and is just as pretty to look at as it is to hear while it spins on my record player.


Pioneer - The Maine

I'm a huge fan of The Maine, and have been listening to them since their first studio album release in 2010. All of their albums are great in their own ways, but Pioneer is by far my favorite in terms of music - it's just quintessential early 2000's rock and roll/alternative music, and (fun fact) The Maine's first independently released album. The album is split into two records, sides A-D, and the lyrics are printed on the inside folds. I really love the red-and-white color scheme and design, too.


Peripheral Vision - Turnover

I scored this album the first time I saw Turnover live, at a venue in RVA. Peripheral Vision is also just one of those albums that I listened to on repeat during a tough time in my life - plus, it's arguably the best album Turnover has ever released to date. The record itself is a really cool, artsy design, and the lyrics are hand-written on the insert shown - just a rad album and design overall.


Home, Like No Place Is There - The Hotelier

The Hotelier is one of my favorite bands, and I got this record when I saw them live for the first time. The show was like no other show I've ever been to - it was in the basement of a small coffee house in D.C., with the stage barely raised off of the ground. I managed to get front row, which put me hardly two feet from the band as they performed. This album serves as a reminder of that amazingly intimate concert, plus, it's one that connects with me on an incredibly deep emotional level. From start to finish, this album laid an incredible foundation for pop-punk and I still cry every time I listen to it (no joke).


GO:OD AM - Mac Miller

GO:OD AM is incredibly special to me for many personal reasons: it, like many others, defined a specific time in my life when I was struggling with myself, life and everyone around me; was my introduction to Mac Miller (who still remains to be my favorite rap artist); and was the very first album my boyfriend ever recommended me. It's split into two records, sides A-D, and comes with a really interestingly designed insert. Instrumentally and lyrically, I think it's one of the most intelligent and meaningful albums ever created. Mac Miller was such a talented, dedicated soul and I'll always remember him within this album. RIP.


Tigers Jaw - Tigers Jaw

Musically, this self-titled release from Tigers Jaw really defined my taste in pop-punk and indie. It's such a fun, punchy album that is a blast to jam in the car or while dancing around the house, and I think the lyrics are burned in my head forever (no joke). The lyrics are written on the inside cover and the record itself is completely clear, which is such a rad design that I don't think I've ever seen elsewhere. Thrift stores really do have the best finds, don't they?


Friends -Elton John

So, obviously this isn't an album but it's such a good song and beautiful record that I couldn't resist taking it home with me. I think this is actually the very first record I ever purchased; from a cluttered thrift store in my hometown when I was 15 or 16 years old. I love the beautiful album art and the fact that the record is so clearly used and tattered...the idea that someone played and loved this record before me makes me really happy, and I'm glad I get to be the next step in this record's life.


Lovely Little Lonely - The Maine

The Maine's LLL era wasn't my favorite due to the music itself (though it is quite good); rather, it was the dark-yet-flowery aesthetic and design concept that makes LLL an album I'll never forget. The Maine's live shows, stage design, merch, videos, etc. of the LLL era was so intricate and gorgeous (I highly encourage you to look up a video from their tour - one of the most beautiful live shows I've ever been to, visually and instrumentally) that I just had to grab this record to preserve it. The record itself is a really nice deep purple, plus it comes with a huge double-sided poster to accompany the album's narrative.


To Those Left Behind - blessthefall

This record itself is a decently interesting design, but it's one that will always hold a special place in my heart. It was one of the first albums my boyfriend recommended me when we first met so many years ago - not only did it make me love metal again, but it helped create a long-standing bond and tradition of listening to music with my boyfriend.


Goodness - The Hotelier

Lyrically AND instrumentally, Goodness by The Hotelier is one of the best albums released in my lifetime, period. The Hotelier took a huge turn with this album compared to their previous releases, turning to soft, fragile indie-rock with fragile and poetic lyrics; which couldn't be more different from the solid pop-punk sound they rocked before. The album art can be a little surprising upon first glance, but the image isn't just for shock value and actually possesses a very meaningful message. The Hotelier actually camped with a nudist colony in the hills of New England for a few months to write this album - and that bold creative process definitely payed off, in my opinion. Inside, the record has a simplistic and elegant design - just like the album itself.


The Head and The Heart - The Head and The Heart

This self-titled album by The Head and The Heart is another that sparked my love for folk-indie...the incredible vocals and instrumentals still mesmerize me to this very day. The album art is very minimalistic and pleasing, though still thought-provoking, and the record comes with a little flip-book with printed lyrics and photos of the band during what I assume was the writing and production process of this album; which is a lovely detail that makes the listening experience so much more intimate.


American Candy - The Maine

I will admit that this album from The Maine isn't my top favorite instrumentally (it's still great, just not my favorite release from The Maine) but, this record is one of favorites due to the thoughtful details and ingenuity that went into its design. The bright cover art paired with the bubblegum-pink color of the record itself is just so aesthetically pleasing, and it includes seven alternate covers! The alternate covers include photos of each band member of The Maine and concept art that you can display whenever you please - which I think is such a creative concept, and definitely one I've never even seen before.


I could probably write a short novel about every other record I own, but I'm sure you get the gist. If you're a collector as well, drop a comment with some of your favorite albums so I can check them out! Here's to growing our collections even more and keeping the record industry alive!


10 views0 comments
bottom of page